The 1099 Economy

They are out there among us.  We see them, but we don’t see them.  We know them, but we don’t know them….  No, I’m not talking about zombies, but the “Lone Eagles” and “Free Agents” making their own jobs instead of waiting for someone else to do it for them.

eXtension Webinar Series

The eXtension Entrepreneurship webinar series is back for its fifth season. All webinars will air monthly on the second Thursday at 2:00pm (ET); 1:00pm (CT); 12:00pm (MT); 11:00am (PT). The November 10 webinar will explore The 1099 Economy with Erik Pages, Entreworks Consulting. This presentation will include a conversation regarding the increasing number of Americans who don’t have a “regular job” but instead work on individual contracts with employers or customers.

No pre-registration is required and there is no fee to participate. About 10 minutes prior to the start time simply go the Adobe Connect Pro meeting room at https://connect.extension.iastate.edu/etc-cop.  You will be presented with a login screen that has an “Enter as Guest” option. Enter your full name then click “Enter Room” to join the conference. You will be able to hear the audio directly from your computer’s speakers. Newcomers to online learning are welcome!

Erik Pages’ DC-based Entreworks has some interesting tools in its toolbox, devoting the summer newsletter to this idea:

The 1099 Economy has emerged somewhat below the radar over the past decade.  Few economic development organizations have devoted much thought or research to the needs of this segment of the economy.  And, that’s not a good thing if 20% of the local workforce is invisible to community leaders.   Based on my experience, I see several segments within the broad category of the 1099 economy:  the reluctant 1099ers, the entrepreneurial 1099ers, and the “gig economy” work force.

Check ‘em out and see if they might help build your local economy, too.

.

This entry was posted in Economy and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>